You are currently viewing Valentine’s Day – Do You Know Your Child’s Love Language?

Valentine’s Day – Do You Know Your Child’s Love Language?

Have you ever paused to think about how your children understand and receive love? I bet you’ve heard about the five love languages, but did you know it also applies to children?

Just as a refresher, there are five ways by which human beings perceive that they are loved, they are through;

Words of Affirmation


Physical Touch

Acts of Service

Quality Time

Every individual has a Primary Love Language, this is the way they feel most loved. For a child who loves Acts of Service, giving him lots of hugs may just not hit the “I love you” home well enough. It is therefore important to find out what your child’s primary love language is and speak it to them as often as possible.

The big question is, how do you know your child’s love language? One way to know is by looking back on times when your child was at his or her best when any of the love languages was used. What love language triggered that?

Let’s look at the different love languages and how you can speak them to your children

Words of affirmation

If your child is someone that feels loved when you encourage him or her, here are some words you can use to show love to him or her:

“You are amazing”

“I am so proud of you.”

“You are so good at…”

“You are so beautiful inside and outside”

“You are so kind and thoughtful.”

These words build up their self image.


This is one of my favourite 🤩. If your child is someone that feels loved when given gifts, here are ways to show love to him or her:

Unexpected gifts.

Candy in their lunch bag

Treasure hunt.

A new outfit, at Wealahkids we’ve got loads of options for you to choose from.

The gifts tell the child you were thinking about them and they are worth your time.

Physical Touch

If touch is your child’s love language, here are ways to show him/her love:

A pat on the back

A hug

A kiss on the cheek

Gently holding their hands when they are close to you

It tells the child you see them and love them.

Acts of Service

For kids who love Acts of Service, here are some things you can do to show them love:

Help them with Homework

Assist to clean out their room

Teach them something new

Be a role model for service

Everyone needs some help, but it means a lot more to people who feel loved by Acts of Service.

Quality Time

Does your child prefer to spend time with you? Here are some ways to show love to him/her:

Bedtime stories

Fun time at the park

Play games together

Take a walk together

Just chill

Remember that though we all have a Primary Love Language, we need all five. This means that you should focus on showing your children love in the language they understand, then sprinkle the others on top for a bubbly outburst of joy!

If your child loves a good hug, I bet they’ll appreciate a big hug with a gift in hand.

This valentine season, don’t focus on the adults only, remember the kids need as much love as you is in the air. Don’t leave out the children. 

When you shop from Wealahkids, you can ask to have a special card or note be included in your child’s order. You can include those details at the checkout point.

Click here to see some of our Bestsellers this season

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply